Book Review | Sparks Like Stars by Nadia Hashimi

Sitara is just a young girl but her experiences are many. She will find herself without her family, left behind without anyone. Her savior, a man her family trusted to protect them is not someone she wishes to be saved by. How did he not save them?

As Sitara finds herself on a new path that leads her to America, she will suffer much more by the hands that are supposed to care for her and protect her before she finds her final home with the American Diplomat that becomes her family.

Aryana is a successful surgeon that try’s to help people when she can. While the business she is in sees much death, she is the doctor her father always hoped she would be.

Her boyfriends has always been on the same page with her with children and marriage. That is until now. He has decided his chances of becoming a politician would be better if they were to make some changes in their relationship. She is worried because she has a complicated past that she hasn’t mentioned in all this time and now it seems to late to tell him but with the turn their relationship seems to be going she knows she must tell.

I loved Nadia Hashimi’s writing and Mozhan Marno did an excellent job bring it to life with her narration. I didn’t want to stop listening the whole time.

This story has so much within that it keeps you interested and doesn’t get stale. This has death, grief, trauma, the foster care system, immigration, achievement, family relationships, governmental powers and much more. I was so glad I read Spark Like Stars. I don’t know why it took me so long.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone that enjoys historical fiction, women overcoming their past, and stories of other cultures. I will definitely be adding this one to my favorite/must read lists.

This was recieved via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions within are my own.

Leave a comment